The Little Caesar’s pizza joint at 506 East Laurel Drive in Salinas was lately the scene of a bit of a commotion. Witnesses claim that a man and his mother were standing in line to order their pizza this past Sunday when a stranger made an offhand comment about the mother’s weight. Specifically, he told the woman that she should not eat pizza because she was too overweight. Flying into a rage, sources say that the woman ran out to her car in order to get a weapon, a crowbar. However, upon her return, she found that her son had already attacked the stranger, punching him a number of times in the head. No arrests were made in the incident, as the woman and her son remain anonymous.
If the son in the aforementioned case were to be identified, he would be arrested for battery charges. California law defines ‘battery’ in a very specific manner, mainly ‘battery’ is the act of touching another person in a way that they find offensive (CA Penal Code 242). So, even if the other person is not physically injured, you could be considered guilty of this violation of the law. However, when physical injury does, in fact, occur, penalties become harsher.
Simple battery is considered a misdemeanor in California. Punching someone several times after they have insulted your mother likely falls into this category, especially as the man was not seriously injured. Normally, penalties for simple battery do not rise above a $2,000 fine and a maximum of 6 months in county jail.